Preakness Stakes Schedule 2013

The Preakness Stakes is the second leg of the ‘Triple Crown’ and is held every year on the third Sunday in May at the Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Maryland.  Known colloquially as “The Run for the Black-Eyed Susans” due to the garland of flowers awarded to the victorious horse it is usually the second most attended horse race in North America, behind only the Kentucky Derby.  2013 Kentucky Derby winner Orb has already confirmed for the Preakness and all eyes will be on him as he tries to become the first ‘Triple Crown’ winner in over 30 years.

The 138th running of the Preakness Stakes will take place on Saturday, May 18, 2013 and will be the culmination of a week of special events leading up to the race itself.  The advanced activity leading up to the Preakness will begin on Wednesday, May 15 with the post position draw to finalize entrants for the race and their starting position.  The Preakness is limited to 14 starters and there’s a good chance for a full field this year—16 of the last 20 races have had a double digit sized field.

On Tuesday night before the post position draw the Preakness organizers and Pimlico race course will celebrate the 40th anniversary of Secretariat’s dominant win en route to his Triple Crown victory.  The event will include an advance screening of a documentary film entitled “Secretariat’s Jockey: Ron Turcotte” and a dinner and reception with Turcotte and Secretariat’s owner Penny Cherney.

The Kentucky Derby is preceded by the Kentucky Oaks on Friday, and the Preakness has a similar tradition with Black-Eyed Susan day. The Black-Eyed Susan was first run in 1919 as the Pimlico Oaks; but the name was changed in 1952 to pay homage to the Maryland state flower. The mile and one-eighth race for three-year-old fillies has been a Grade II event since 1976. Gates for the Black-Eyed Susan day open at 10 AM on Friday, May 17th with a full day of racing action.

Saturday is Preakness Day, with gates opening at 8 AM for a full day of horse racing leading up to the 138th running of the Preakness Stakes.

Television coverage has been announced, with the first major event being the post position draw.  The draw will take place on Wednesday, May 15 at 5 PM Eastern/2 PM Pacific with live coverage on NBC Sports.

The race itself will be broadcast on NBC with coverage beginning at 4:30 Eastern/1:30 Pacific.  Scheduled post time is 6:05 PM Eastern/3:05 PM Pacific.